Contact: Josh Randt

Phone: (763) 477-3111 Email: jrandt@whe.org



News Release

WRIGHT-HENNEPIN AWARDS \$24,200 IN SCHOLARSHIPS TO LOCAL STUDENTS

Rockford, Minn. (June 5, 2017) — On May 25, Wright-Hennepin (WH) awarded \$24,200 in scholarships to 19 local students to help them continue their education.

The ceremony was held at WH's headquarters in Rockford for recipients and their families. WH began awarding scholarships to local students in 1988. Now in its 29th year, the cooperative has awarded a total of \$681,650.

The scholarship fund was created after a state law was passed allowing unclaimed capital credits to be put into an education fund. In addition to unclaimed capital credits, contributions were made from the Wright-Hennepin Holding Company subsidiaries, – WH Security, WH Services and HeatMyFloors.com. This allows WH to invest in the area's youth without impacting electric rates.

WH Local Schools Scholarship

WH awards scholarships to students whose parent/guardian is a WH member. WH provides one scholarship to each school in its electric service area for an outstanding student pursuing higher education. WH also offers one "at-large" scholarship for students who attend private schools or schools that neighbor WH's electric service territory. The following recipients received a WH local schools scholarship:

Hailey Manninen, Annandale HS
Kayla Lehtola, Buffalo HS
Emma Erickson, Dassel-Cokato HS
Christine Whitcomb, Delano HS
Madeline Weninger, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted HS
Hyesu Kim, Maple Grove HS
Tyler Russell, Maple Lake HS
Matthew Baloun, Monticello HS
Paige Jensen, Orono HS
Joanna Lee, Osseo HS
Jacob Hall, Rockford HS

Megan Secrist, Rogers HS
Ethan Nesbit, St. Michael-Albertville HS
Hailee Bushman, Watertown-Mayer HS
Abhi Kamboj, Wayzata HS
Alexendra Robinson, Independence (at-large scholarship)

Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Line Worker Scholarship

Each year, the Edward R. Slebiska Scholarship is awarded in the name of the cooperative's first CEO to individuals planning to become electric line workers. During his time as CEO, Slebiska helped the cooperative bring reliable and affordable electricity to rural Wright County and Western Hennepin County. The recipient of the 2017 Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Line Worker Scholarship is Eli Hance, of Maple Lake.

Basin Electric Scholarships

Basin Electric Power Cooperative annually awards a scholarship to its distribution cooperative members. Basin is one of WH's wholesale power suppliers, and is headquartered in Bismarck, N.D. The recipient of this year's Basin Electric Scholarship is Alyssa Risch of Maple Grove. Basin also offers a scholarship to employees of its distribution co-ops. This year, the Basin Employee Scholarship recipient is Allison Zipp of St. Michael.



The 2017 Wright-Hennepin scholarship recipients posed for a photo with WH's Board of Directors. Front row, from left to right: Allison Zipp, Christine Whitcomb, Hyesu Kim, Emma Erickson, Hailey Manninen, Madeline Weninger, Paige Jensen, Kayla Lehtola and Eli Hance. Middle row, from left to right: Director Chris Lantto, Director Burton Horsch, Ethan Nesbit, Megan Secrist, Tyler Russell, Abhi Kamboj, Jacob Hall and Director Kenneth Hiebel. Back row, from left to right: Alyssa Risch, Matthew Baloun, Hailee Bushman, Director Mike Tieva, Director Butch Lindenfelser, Director Casey Whelan, Board Chair Erick Heinz, Vice Board Chair Timothy Young and Secretary/Treasurer Dale Jans. Not pictured: Joanna Lee and Alexandra Robinson.

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 50,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.

-end-