

News Release

WRIGHT-HENNEPIN MEMBERS DONATE MORE THAN \$19,000 TO HELP LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS

Rockford, Minn. (August 19, 2014) — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) members who participate in Operation Round Up (ORU) donated grants totaling \$19,705 in June 2014.

ORU participants allow their electric bills to be rounded up to the nearest dollar each month. The rounded amount is then used for donations to fund local programs. More than 80 percent of WH's members participate in the ORU program. ORU's trust board of directors manages the generated money, which is held in a trust fund. Through a selection process and review of guidelines, the board evaluates funding requests on a bimonthly basis.

The ORU trust board approved the following donations on behalf of WH members for June 2014:

- \$750, Boy Scout Troop #590 of Otsego, funds to purchase a dining canopy
- \$1,000, Freedom Farm of Waverly, funds to rewire schoolhouse and support the "Hopes with Horses" program
- \$10,000, Love INC Heartland of Delano, funds support food and mentoring program
- \$5,000, MN Adult and Teen Challenge, funds to support the local program
- \$1,000, My Brother's Keeper of Wright County, funds to purchase materials needed for bedrolls and care packages
- \$1,500, Westonka Food Shelf, funds to purchase a refrigerator for food shelf needs

For those interested in applying for funds, the next application deadline is September 1, 2014. To receive an application, visit WH's website at www.whe.org, send an email to oru@whe.org, or call Lisa Zipp and leave a message at (763) 477-3000 extension 6126.

WH is a member-owned non-profit electric utility that provides electric power to Wright County and the western part of Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen in

this area since 1937 and currently serves more than 46,000 electric accounts. The utility started its security division in 1989 that provides local home security solutions as well as monitors alarm systems for almost 60,000 customers in 32 states and three Canadian provinces.

-end-