

## **News Release**

## WRIGHT-HENNEPIN BOARD RETURNS \$3.6 MILLION IN CAPITAL CREDITS TO MEMBERS

**Rockford, MN (December 4, 2017)** — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) is proud to announce a \$3.6 million capital credit refund to members. This is the largest amount ever returned in the 37 consecutive years that WH has returned capital credits to members.

Members who purchased electricity from WH in 1993, 1994 and 2016 will receive a capital credit refund. This return is due to WH's strong operating performance and overall financial condition in 2017. Like previous years, members will receive a check in the mail if their refund is greater than \$5. Members whose refund is between \$1 and \$5 will receive a bill credit instead of a check. Members who wish to receive a bill credit rather than a check may do so by filling out a short request form located at <u>https://goo.gl/qqQaKh</u>.

Capital credit refunds are the equivalent of dividends from an investor-owned organization. Members receive a refund for their energy use during the years being retired, which represents their member share in the cooperative. Before returning margins back to members, WH uses capital to offset the cost of maintenance and construction of the electric distribution system.

Based on the cooperative's financial condition and other considerations, WH's memberelected board determines the amount of margins retired each year.

"These capital credit returns are what help prove the difference of cooperatives compared to other electric utilities," said WH Board Chair Eric Heinz. "The Board is proud that this year is our largest return to members yet."

WH's board of directors include Chair Eric Heinz, District 9; Vice Chair, Timothy Young, District 1, Annandale; Secretary-Treasurer Dale Jans, District 4, Buffalo; Duane "Butch" Lindenfelser, District 2, Monitcello; Burton Horsch, District 3, Howard Lake; Chris Lantto, District 5, Annandale; Mike Tieva, District 6, Maple Grove; Kenneth Hiebel, District 7, Plymouth; and Casey Whelan, District 8, Maple Grove.

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 50,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.

-end-