

**News Release** 

## WRIGHT-HENNEPIN BOARD RETURNS \$3.1 MILLION IN CAPITAL CREDITS TO MEMBERS

**Rockford, Minn. (December 2, 2016)** — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) is proud to announce a \$3.1 million capital credit refund to members. This is the largest amount ever returned in the history of the cooperative, and marks the 36th consecutive year that WH has returned capital credits to members.

Members who purchased electricity from WH in 1991, 1992 and a portion of 2015 will receive a capital credit refund, as declared by WH's board of directors. Like last year, members will receive a check in the mail if their refund is greater than \$5. Members whose refund is between \$1 and \$5 will receive a bill credit instead of a check.

Capital credit refunds are the equivalent of dividends from an investor-owned organization. Members receive a refund for their energy use during the years being retired, which represents their member share in the cooperative. Before returning these margins back to members, WH uses this capital to offset the cost of maintenance and construction of the electric distribution system.

Based on the cooperative's financial condition and other considerations, WH's memberelected board determines the amount of margins retired each year.

"The Board is proud of the record-breaking return of capital credits to members this holiday season," said WH Board Chair Erick Heinz. "We hope this once again provides tangible evidence of the cooperative difference."

WH's board of directors include Chair Erick Heinz, District 9, Corcoran; Vice Chair Timothy Young, District 1, Annandale; Secretary-Treasurer Dale Jans, District 4, Buffalo; Duane "Butch" Lindenfelser, District 2, Monticello; Burton Horsch, District 3, Howard Lake; Chris Lantto, District 5, Annandale; Mike Tieva, District 6, Maple Grove; Kenneth Hiebel, District 7, Plymouth; and Casey Whelan, District 8, Maple Grove.

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 50,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.

-end-