

Contact: Josh Randt Phone: (763) 477-3111 Email: jrandt@whe.org

News Release

AREA STUDENTS AWARDED \$27,000 IN WRIGHT-HENNEPIN SCHOLARSHIPS

Rockford, Minn. (June 1, 2016) — Since 1988, Wright-Hennepin (WH) has helped area students further their education with scholarship donations. This year, WH again awarded \$27,400 to 19 local students in the cooperative's service territory. This brings the dollar amount of scholarships awarded to \$666,200 in the program's 29th year.

On May 19, WH awarded the scholarships during a ceremony at its headquarters in Rockford, Minn. The scholarships are funded largely through donations from WH's diversified businesses – WH Security, WH Response (HeatMyFloors.com and WH Services), WH Generation, WH International Response Center, WH Solar and WH Holding Investments – under the umbrella of WH Holding Company. Funding the scholarships in this way allows WH to invest in the area's youth without impacting electric rates.

WH Local Schools Scholarship

WH awards one scholarship per school district in its electric service area to outstanding students pursuing higher education. The following recipients received local school scholarships:

Isaac Millner, Annandale HS Sarah Lehtola, Buffalo HS Courtney Danielson, Dassel-Cokato HS Kennedy Reimer, Delano HS Stephen Montgomery, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted HS Conor Friedmann, Maple Grove HS Aidan Jude, Maple Lake HS Colleen Chwalek, Monticello HS Trevon Sladek, Orono HS Kevin Vu, Osseo HS Allison McNeal, Rockford HS Faith Emovondavid, Rogers HS Ashley Hawkins, St. Michael-Albertville HS Miranda Boll, Watertown-Mayer HS Haneul Ryoo, Wayzata HS

Connor Smith, Plymouth (at-large)

Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Line Worker Scholarship

Line workers make up an important part of WH's workforce and require critical skills that can be in short supply. That is why WH offers two scholarships for this trade. The Edward R. Slebiska Scholarship is awarded in the name of the cooperative's first CEO. During his tenure, Slebiska helped the cooperative bring reliable and affordable electricity to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. This year's recipients of the Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Line Worker Scholarship are Scott Jordan, Maple Lake, Minn., and Noah Haaland, Monticello, Minn.

Elwyn and Hazel Knickerbocker Memorial Line Worker Scholarship

In 2005 to honor the memory of Elwyn and Hazel Knickerbocker, the family created this line worker scholarship. The Knickerbockers played a crucial role in bringing electricity to rural homes and farms in Wright and Hennepin counties. Elwyn served on WH's Board of Directors, representing District 1 for 53 years. At the time of his retirement, he was the longest serving electric cooperative director in the nation. Hazel was a tireless champion of rural electrification, offering strong leadership during efforts to organize and expand the cooperative. Kyle Krueger, Big Lake, Minn., received the Elwyn and Hazel Knickerbocker Memorial Line Worker Scholarship for 2016. WH has gone on to hire a number of the Slebiska and Knickerbocker scholarship winners after the recipients have completed line worker training.

Basin Electric Scholarships

Basin Electric Power Cooperative (Basin) annually awards a scholarship to its distribution cooperative members. Basin is one of WH's wholesale power suppliers, and is headquartered in Bismarck, N.D. The recipient of this year's Basin Electric Scholarship is Aidan Jude, Maple Lake, Minn.



This year's scholarship recipients posed for a photo with WH's board of directors. Scholarship recipients pictured from left to right are, front row: Haneul Ryoo, Sarah Lehtola, Courtney Danielson, Colleen Chwalek, Miranda Boll, Kennedy Reimer, Scott Jordan and Ashley Hawkins.
Middle row, from left to right are: Aidan Jude, Noah Haaland, Conor Friedmann, Trevon Sladek, Kyle Krueger, Faith Emovondavid, Allison McNeal, Isaac Millner and Conor Smith. Board of Directors who attended the banquer were, back row from left to right: Casey Whelan, Chris Lantto, Mike Tieva, Dale Jans, Burton Horsch, Timothy Young, Butch Lindefelser, Kenneth Hiebel and Erick Heinz.

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves almost 50,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, MN.

-end-