

## Contact: Josh Randt Phone: (763) 477-3111 Email: jrandt@whe.org

## **News Release**

## WRIGHT-HENNEPIN CELEBRATES 80 YEARS

**Rockford, Minn**. (**April 24, 2017**) — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) celebrated its 80<sup>th</sup> annual meeting at its Rockford headquarters with more than 2,400 members and guests on Thursday, April 20. A total of 1,034 members registered for the event.

The theme for the evening was "80 Years of the Cooperative Difference," and members were treated to a complimentary pork chop dinner. A total of 2,404 meals were served and 167 kids checked into WH's children's room. Carl Greku, of Cokato, won the grand prize of a 2011 Chevy extended cab pickup truck.

Incumbents Duane "Butch" Lindenfelser, District 2; Chris Lantto, District 5; and Kenneth Hiebel, District 7, were all re-elected to the board of directors. Board officers Erick Heinz, Timothy Young and Dale Jans were all re-elected as board chair, vice chair and secretary/treasurer, respectively.

WH President and CEO Tim Sullivan took members on a journey from WH's inception in 1937 up until today, highlighting how the cooperative has striven to put members first amid eight decades of changes and challenges.

"We're proudest of the fact that, for 80 years, WH has delivered the quality of life you need, want and expect – the quality of life that makes everything from entertainment to work to the realization of person dreams possible," Sullivan said. "In 1937, WH was formed with just 1,400 members – and fewer than 400 of them were connected initially. Today, it is the state's fourth largest electric co-op, serving more than 51,000 consumers. And we've gone from generating revenues of \$11,000 in 1937 to almost \$100 million today.

"... Best of all, we've stayed true to our roots, to our identity, to who we are. And we proudly are a member-owned electric utility run for the benefit of those we serve. So, while we celebrate our founding 80 years ago, we also recommit ourselves to the daily task of honoring and demonstrating the Cooperative Difference. If we continue to do that, we'll have a proud and distinguished legacy for another 80 years and beyond."

Other speakers included WH Chief Financial Officer Angie Pribyl, WH Board Chair Erick Heinz, WH Holding Board Chair Timothy Young and WH Holding Chief Operating Officer Wendy Youngren.

WH also recognized large donations made through Operation Round Up to local food shelves and Wright County Community Action.

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-forprofit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 50,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.



-end-

Wright-Hennepin President and CEO Tim Sullivan shared how WH will continue to provide members with the cooperative difference during the business meeting.