

News Release

WRIGHT-HENNEPIN AWARDS \$28,400 IN SCHOLARSHIPS TO LOCAL STUDENTS

Rockford, Minn. (May 28, 2020) — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) has awarded \$28,400 in scholarships to 21 local students to help them continue their education.

WH began awarding scholarships to local students in 1988. Now in its 32nd year, the cooperative has awarded more than \$766,000.

The scholarship fund was created after a state law was passed allowing unclaimed capital credits to be put into an education fund. In addition to unclaimed capital credits, contributions were made from the Wright-Hennepin Holding Company. This allows WH to invest in the area's youth without impacting electric rates.

WH local school scholarship

WH awards scholarships to students whose parent/guardian is a WH member. WH provides one scholarship to each school in its electric service area for an outstanding student pursuing higher education. WH also offers one "at-large" scholarship for students who attend private schools or schools that neighbor WH's electric service territory. The following recipients received a WH local school scholarship:

- Abigail Lillehaug, Annandale HS
- Jada Habisch, Buffalo HS
- Amanda Ylitalo, Dassel-Cokato HS
- Andrew McMahan, Delano HS
- Alexander Edstrom, Heritage Christian Academy
- Bethany Groos, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted HS
- Melissa Su, Maple Grove HS
- Megan Carlson, Maple Lake HS
- Sayde Jude, Monticello HS

- Lucas Cates, Orono HS
- Janelle Guse, Osseo Sr. HS
- Everett Brun, Rockford HS
- Nykayla Greer, St. Michael-Albertville HS
- Shelby Mueller, Watertown-Mayer HS
- Sophia Fries, Wayzata HS
- Emily Eiden, Wright Technical Center
- Alyssa Erickson, Maranatha Christian Academy (at-large scholarship)

Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Lineworker Scholarship

Each year, the Edward R. Slebiska Scholarship is awarded in the name of the cooperative's first CEO to individuals planning to become electric lineworkers. During his time as CEO, Slebiska helped the cooperative bring reliable and affordable electricity to rural Wright County and Western Hennepin County. The recipients of the 2020 Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Lineworker Scholarship are Cole Evjen, Wadena Technical School and Michael Gillespie, Wadena Technical School.

Basin Electric Scholarship

Basin Electric Power Cooperative annually awards a scholarship to its distribution cooperative members. Basin is one of WH's wholesale power suppliers, and is headquartered in Bismarck, N.D. The member recipient of this year's Basin Electric Scholarship is Kaylyn Wright of Rockford. The Basin Employee Scholarship recipient is Allison Zipp of St. Michael.

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 50,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.

-end-