

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For immediate release

Contact:
Guy Adams, General Manager
Heartland Security
888-264-6380
gadams@heartlandss.com

## Wendy Youngren Appointed President of Heartland Security

MELROSE, Minn. – Heartland Security Services (HSS) announces the appointment of Wendy Youngren as president of HSS. In addition, the Board of Governors for HSS has approved a contract for Wright-Hennepin Holding (WHH) Company to provide full management of HSS. Both changes will become effective on July 1, 2021.

Youngren will also continue in her current role as Chief Operating Officer of WHH, based in Rockford, Minn. She comes to Heartland with almost 30 years of experience in the security industry. Youngren is the former Vice President of WHIRC, which is the 24/7 monitoring center servicing all HSS customers.

"I'm excited to have been chosen to lead the experienced Heartland team," Youngren said. "I look forward to building on the strong business foundation already in place, while ensuring Heartland Security customers get the personalized services and trusted products they need to best protect their homes and businesses."

Brian Krambeer, Chairman of the HSS Board of Governors stated the change is part of the succession planning with the upcoming retirement of HSS General Manager Guy Adams this December.

"The board of governors is excited about the opportunity to work with Wright-Hennepin Holding Company for the future operation and leadership for Heartland Security," Krambeer said. "The change will better align Heartland for growth and expansion and strengthens the co-op principle of cooperation among cooperatives."

This new management reporting structure does not change the mission or strategy of HSS, which is to serve and protect more than 8,000 families and businesses.

Heartland Security was created in 1999 by nine electric cooperatives in Minnesota and Iowa. It is now locally owned by 14 rural electric cooperatives: Benco Electric Cooperative, Brown County Rural Electric Association, Federated Rural Electric Association, Freeborn Mower Electric Cooperative, Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative, Kandiyohi Power Cooperative, McLeod Cooperative Power, Meeker Cooperative Light and Power Association, MiEnergy Cooperative, Nobles Cooperative Electric, People's Energy Cooperative, Runestone Electric Association, Stearns Electric Association and Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association.

-end-