Phone: (763) 477-3111 **E-mail:** jnovak@whe.org



# **News Release**

## WRIGHT-HENNEPIN AWARDS \$30,800 IN SCHOLARSHIPS TO LOCAL STUDENTS

Rockford, Minn. (May 27, 2021) — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) has awarded \$30,800 in scholarships to 23 local students to help them continue their education.

WH began awarding scholarships to local students in 1988. Now in its 33rd year, the cooperative has awarded more than \$646,000.

The scholarship fund was created after a state law was passed allowing unclaimed capital credits to be put into an education fund. In addition to unclaimed capital credits, contributions were made from the Wright-Hennepin Holding Company. This allows WH to invest in the area's youth without impacting electric rates.

#### WH local school scholarship

WH awards scholarships to students whose parent/guardian is a WH member. WH provides one scholarship to each school in its electric service area for an outstanding student pursuing higher education. WH also offers one "at-large" scholarship for students who are homeschooled or attend a school neighboring WH's electric service territory. The following 19 recipients received a WH local school scholarship this year:

- Alec Braun, Annandale HS
- Nicole Elsenpeter, Buffalo HS
- Kezia Lee, Dassel-Cokato HS
- Aliya Johnson, Delano HS
- Anika Millar, Heritage Christian Academy
- Neva Diers, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted HS
- Sawyer Miedema, Maple Grove HS
- Abigail Althoff, Maple Lake HS

- Gracie Guertin, Monticello HS
- Julia Stevens, Orono HS
- Maggie McGuire, Osseo Sr. HS
- Trisha Sebastin, Parnassus Preparatory School
- Sydney Christensen, Rockford HS
- Gabriella Bengs, Rogers HS
- Jalyssa Beaudry, St. Michael-Albertville HS
- Paige Rue, Watertown-Mayer HS
- Lydia Gengler, Wayzata HS
- Daniel Neutz, Wright Technical Center
- Keely Kolbrek, Maranatha Christian Academy (at-large scholarship)

### Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Lineworker Scholarship

Each year, the Edward R. Slebiska Scholarship is awarded in the name of the cooperative's first CEO to individuals planning to become electric lineworkers. During his time as CEO, Slebiska helped the cooperative bring reliable and affordable electricity to rural Wright County and Western Hennepin County. The recipients of the 2021 Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Lineworker Scholarship are Joshua Hadzima (Totino-Grace High School) and Brock Paumen (Maple Lake High School).

#### **Basin Electric Scholarship**

Basin Electric Power Cooperative annually awards a scholarship to its distribution cooperative members. Basin is one of WH's wholesale power suppliers, and is headquartered in Bismarck, N.D. The member recipient of this year's Basin Electric Scholarship is Kailey DeWolfe (Rockford HS). The Basin Employee Scholarship recipient is Kezia Lee (Dassel-Cokato HS).

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 55,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.