

Wright-Hennepin
Cooperative Electric Association
A Touchstone Energy* Cooperative

Phone: 763-477-3111
Fax: 763-477-3054
E-mail: lscherer@whe.org

News Release

WRIGHT-HENNEPIN RECEIVES ROCKFORD-GREENFIELD CHAMBER AWARD

Rockford, Minn. (April 14, 2011) — Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association (WH) received the 2010 Small Business Community Service Award from the Rockford-Greenfield Area Chamber of Commerce on April 11.

The award recognizes local businesses in the Rockford-Greenfield area that have demonstrated excellence in their field, while showing dedication to the community. Members of WH nominated the cooperative for the award. Nominations were reviewed and selected by a committee created by the chamber.

WH was recognized for its various community involvement activities, which include its Operation Round Up program, participating in local community celebrations and events, assisting the newly formed Rockford-Greenfield chamber with its establishment and supporting other local businesses. WH Key Accounts Executive Lane Wilson accepted the award on WH's behalf at the April 11 chamber meeting.

"We are honored that the co-op's members nominated – and that the chamber ultimately chose – to recognize WH for our community efforts," said WH President and CEO Mark Vogt. "We seek to be a good neighbor and are gratified that our involvement is making a difference."

The Rockford-Greenfield Area Chamber of Commerce is a voluntary organization with business, professional and educational interests that works to enhance and improve the economic, civic and cultural interests of our communities.

WH is a member-owned non-profit electric utility that provides electric power to Wright County and the western part of Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen in this area since 1937 and currently serves more than 46,000 electric accounts. The utility started its security division in 1989 that provides local home security

solutions as well as monitors alarm systems for more than 50,000 customers in 32 states and three Canadian provinces.

-end-