Wright Hennepin Electric Headquarters

About WH

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association is a member-owned, not-for-profit electric utility that provides power to rural Wright County and western Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen to the area since 1937 and currently serves more than 59,000 electric accounts. It is headquartered in Rockford, Minn.

Check out this interesting video that describes the purpose of electric cooperatives, and how they formed!

What does it mean to be a member-owner?

Being a member-owner of Wright-Hennepin distinguishes you from other electric utility customers in a number of ways:

  • Your voice is heard. You have an input regarding setting policy through a nine-member board elected by you and other Wright-Hennepin members in the local area. Board members serve three-year terms and elections are held at an Annual Meeting each spring.
  • You share in the “profits” of the cooperative. Since the first capital credit refunds were made by WH in 1957, WH has returned more than $90 million to its members.

Our Vision

To benefit our members,  WH and its diversified businesses will outperform our competitors and sustain top 10% results in satisfaction, financial management, safety and reliability through 2025.

Our Mission

We deliver the power, products and competitive pricing essential for improving the quality of life of the members and communities we serve.

Our Values


Financial Statements

2016 year-end financial statement

2017 year-end financial statement

2018 year-end financial statement

2019 year-end financial statement

2020 year-end financial statement

2021 year-end financial statement

2022 year-end financial statement

2023 year-end financial statement

Q1 2024 financial statement

Service Territory

WH district map

Power Supply Mix

WH purchases power from three providers: Great River Energy, Basin Electric and MISO. The amount of power WH purchases from each is shown in the first pie chart. The three pie charts below that show the Name Plate Capacity of those companies.  

WH's Power Supply Mix

These graphs are representative and are subject to change as markets fluctuate. Great River Energy power supply mix 2023 data, MISO power supply mix 2022 data, Basin power supply mix 2021 data. WH power supply mix graphic updated December 2022.


Minnesota Rural Electric Association National Rural Electric Association Touchstone Energy Great River Energy Basin Electric Power Cooperative

In 2022, President Joe Biden signed into law the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA). Among other things, this bill aims to invest in energy production and reduce carbon emissions in the United States.

For more information, see this list of current resources: