Wright-Hennepin will offer 20 scholarships for local students in 2012

Posted on January 30, 2012

Rockford, Minn. (January 30, 2012) — With college already on the minds of many high school seniors, Wright-Hennepin (WH) will again award 20 scholarships this spring to help local students continue their education.

These scholarships are funded through donations from WH’s diversified non-electric subsidiary businesses – WH Security, WH Services, HeatMyFloors.com, WH Generation and WH International Response Center – under the umbrella of the WH Holding Company. By using this funding method, WH’s education program is not financed through members’ electric rates.

WH Local Schools Scholarship

The cooperative is awarding one scholarship to students at each of the following public schools in WH’s service territory: Annandale, Buffalo, Dassel-Cokato, Delano, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted, Maple Grove, Maple Lake, Monticello, Orono, Osseo, Rockford, Rogers, St. Michael-Albertville, Watertown-Mayer and Wayzata. WH also offers one “at-large” scholarship to students from private schools within or public schools that neighbor WH’s service territory. Each school listed has its own application deadline. The “at-large” application deadline is March 31. 

Elwyn and Hazel Knickerbocker Memorial Scholarship

Elwyn and Hazel Knickerbocker played a crucial role in bringing electricity to Wright and Hennepin counties. To honor their efforts, their family began a scholarship in 2005. This $1,500 scholarship is awarded to a local man or woman who plans to pursue an electrical line worker career. The application deadline for this scholarship is April 25.

Edward R. Slebiska Memorial Line Worker Scholarship

Ed Slebiska played a leading role in bringing electricity to rural homes in Wright and Hennepin counties in 1937. He went on to become WH’s first CEO, holding the post until his retirement 40 years later in 1977. Two scholarships are awarded annually in his name to students looking to pursue the line worker profession, each in the amount of $3,000. The application deadline for this scholarship is April 25.

Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarship

Basin Electric Power Cooperative (BEPC) of Bismarck, N.D., one of WH’s power suppliers, is offering a $1,000 scholarship to dependents of WH members. The application deadline for this scholarship is February 15.

How to apply

For additional scholarship details and application forms, please visit our scholarship Web page. If you have any questions regarding the application process, call (763) 477-3000.

WH is a member-owned non-profit electric utility that provides electric power to Wright County and the western part of Hennepin County. The cooperative has been a corporate citizen in this area since 1937 and currently serves more than 46,000 electric accounts. The utility started its security division in 1989 that provides local home security solutions as well as monitors alarm systems for more than 50,000 customers in 32 states and three Canadian provinces.

Download a scholarship application.