Director election information

Wright-Hennepin’s electric service territory is divided into nine districts, each represented by a board member. Directors meet monthly to provide financial and operational oversight, establish policies and rates, and represent members’ voices in the cooperative’s operations.

Directors serve three-year terms, and director elections are held every year at the cooperative’s Annual Meeting. Read more about how to vote for your district's director.

Election schedule:
Districts 1, 3, 9 election: 2024
Districts 4, 6, 8 election: 2025
Districts 2, 5, 7 election: 2026

Director applications are now available

Download director application for districts 1, 3, and 9.

Applications, Board Candidate Biography sheets, and resumes must be returned by February 28, 2024 to:

Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association
Attn: Board Secretary Michael Tieva
PO Box 330
Rockford, MN 55373

Director criteria

To be a WH board member, applicants must meet certain criteria. 

Learn about director criteria. 

Director duties and responsibilities 

Directors have three legal duties, in addition to other responsibilities, while serving on the WH Board. 

Read the director duties and responsibilities.

The role of a director

In addition to monthly Board Meetings, WH directors can expect to participate in industry meetings, learning about electric utility trends and more. 

Learn more about the role of a Wright-Hennepin board member. 

A typical WH Board Meeting

What does a typical WH Board Meeting look like? Read a blog from former WH Director Dale Jans to learn more! 

A typical WH Board Meeting.

A typical WH Board Calendar

Board members attend monthly WH Board Meetings, as well as different legislative and industry meetings and conferences throughout the year. 

See what a typical WH Board calendar looks like.

WH CEO's Memo: Member control delivers the cooperative advantage

As an electric cooperative, WH is guided by the seven cooperative principles. Learn more about each principle in-depth. 

In the December 2020 Hotline Update, WH President and CEO Tim Sullivan wrote about Democratic Member Control, one of the seven cooperative principles, and how it is part of what makes electric cooperatives like WH stand out.

Read the CEO's memo.

Districts 1, 3, and 9